The primary role of the Senate is to promulgate legislation beneficial to and in the best interest of the undergraduate students, and to work closely with the Executive Council to ensure that legislation is properly implemented.  In addition, every Senator must serve on at least one standing committee, attend two office hours a week and submit a monthly report.

There are 22 voting members of the Senate and the seats are allocated according to constituencies:

17 seats College of Arts and Sciences, 2 seats College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, 1 seat Health Science Center, 1 seat RHA and 1 seat CSA.

The Executive Vice President is the Chair of the Senate and prepares the agenda.  The President Pro Tempore is elected from the Senate’s membership and presides in the absence of the Executive Vice President.

A Notice About Senate Reports: These reports only reflect the views and opinions of the individual Senators, and do not reflect the opinion of the USG as a whole. Furthermore, these reports are not screened or edited by the USG, and may be contain false or unreliable information. These reports are intended to create accountability amongst your paid representatives. They are published online as a way for Senators to reach out to their constituents, so that they may gain an inside perspective on the operations of the USG Senate.

President Pro Tempore: Deborah Machalow

Allen Abraham
Tahir Ahmad
Ory Baum
Spenser Cushing
Samuel Cushner
Frank Fanizza
Christian Giraldo
Mahyar Kashan
Sidrah Khan
Thomas Kirnbauer
Yan Leyfman
Deborah Machalow
Shivani Rampersad
Masood Rustemi
Najee Simmons
Harminder Singh
Priya Sohi
Peter Stratoudakis
Russell Williams

All Executive Council members are non-voting members of the Senate with full speaking rights.

All Undergraduate Students are members of the USG, and are encouraged to attend Senate meetings.   Gallery members may speak during open agenda at the end of a regular meeting.

12 visitors online now
1 guests, 11 bots, 0 members
Max visitors today: 13 at 12:16 am UTC
This month: 14 at 07-08-2011 02:03 am UTC
This year: 77 at 04-15-2011 06:21 pm UTC
All time: 77 at 04-15-2011 06:21 pm UTC